Aug. 24 induction day for 2019 CP-1 HOF class

ASHLAND, Ky. – Eight former players and two coaches make up the 2019 CP-1 Ashland Baseball Hall of Fame class. The induction ceremony will be Aug. 24 at 1 p.m. in Central Park.

This will be the fifth class inducted, bringing the total to 60 former players, coaches and umpires in the CP-1 Hall of Fame. Four more 10-man classes will complete the honorees, which is comprised of players who accomplished playing feats on the big diamond in Central Park.

The 2019 class has a little bit of everything with great coaches and players who were good not only in baseball but any other sport they touched.

The 1950s era is well represented with youth league coaching pioneer T.R. Wright, former Ashland Tomcats players Robert Wright (one of T.R.’s sons), Dick Fillmore and Herb Conley and former Fairview High standout Ed Joseph. Both T.R. and Robert Wright will be honored posthumously.

The 1960s era includes former Ashland Tomcat stars Ed Radjunas, Tobey Tolbert and Mike Johnson.

The 1970s era includes former Ashland Tomcat coach Frank Sloan and Tomcat pitching standout Darryl Smith.

This class is strong on third baseman with Joseph, Conley and Radjunas all superb in the era on the hot corner. Robert Wright was one of the best hitters to ever set foot in Central Park, according to his peers. Johnson was a standout catcher and Tolbert an outfielder who could hit and run. Fillmore was another who could move on the field at shortstop and also pitched. Smith was an outstanding pitcher and hitter.

If they couldn’t beat you with bats or pitching, then surely two of the best coaches in CP-1 history would find a way to get it done.

Congratulations to a sterling class:

-Herb Conley

-Dick Fillmore

-Mike Johnson

-Ed Joseph

-Ed Radjunas

-Frank Sloan

-Darryl Smith

-Tobey Tolbert

-Robert Wright

-T.R. Wright

2018 (14): H.F. Dixon, Ernie Daniels, Greg Swift, David Patton, Don Allen, Don Lentz, Fred Leibee, Mike Tackett, David Staten, Larry Castle, John Sieweke, Larry Stevens, Rick Reeves, Frank Wagner.

2017 (13): J.D. Browne, Bo Carter, Joe Conley, Tim Huff, Mike Smith, Steve Hemlepp, John Mullins, Kevin Gothard, Mike Gothard, Dale Griffith, Nard Pergrem, Jim Speaks, John Thomas.

2016 (11): Bob Lynch, Steve Rolen, “Big” Ed Hughes, Wayne Workman, Bill Workman, Chuck Dickison, Juan Thomas, Ellis Childers, Clyde Chinn, Marvin Hall, Dan Smith.

2015 (12): Brandon Webb, Don Gullett, Bill Lynch, Drew Hall, Charlie Reliford, Jody Hamilton, Dykes Potter, Squire Potter, Bob Simpson, Reecie Banks, Jim Host, Gene Bennett.


2 thoughts on “Aug. 24 induction day for 2019 CP-1 HOF class

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s